Correspondence with Mike Weatherley MP for Hove and Portslade

Dear Mike,

I’m sad that this has deterred you from delivering your talk on drug policy reform. As much as I oppose what happened on Wednesday, it is also a real judgement of your character and belief in your policies. Denying yourself to be heard due to such an event about has made me very disappointed. Dealing and persevering with crude opposition is always going to be in the nature of your profession, and you are ever so fortunate to be in the UK. Such timid action is probably a justification for using harassment and intimidation to get a point across, is that a message you would like to portray?

In terms of university security, I’m sure they will learn from their mistake. I don’t think anyone thought this would have happened. (However I am more than happy for you to give management a hard time.)

Thank you for your prompt reply. I’m happy for you to take this point rhetorically.

Kind Regards,

Yasmin Centeno

From: WEATHERLEY, Mike [mailto:mike.weatherley.mp@parliament.uk]

Sent: 16 November 2012 18:20
To: ‘Yasmin Centeno’
Subject: RE: Apologises

Dear Yasmin

Thank you for your kind and well reasoned email.

I wish I could have had the opportunity of explaining why this is a good law – and to hear why persons like yourself disagree with it. But alas that was denied.

I doubt I will be coming back to Sussex Uni any time soon. At the moment they are in denial about their security arrangements which just means my talk scheduled for the 30th November on drugs reform is now cancelled. Such a shame.

In have passed on your good wishes to my staff and they are grateful.

Kind regards and thanks once again.

MIKE WEATHERLEY MP

Hove and Portslade

www.mikeweatherleymp.com

From: Yasmin Centeno [mailto:yhnc20@sussex.ac.uk]

Sent: 15 November 2012 00:19
To: WEATHERLEY, Mike
Subject: Apologises

Dear Mike,

I am a student at Sussex University and I am writing this letter as an individual and not as a representative of any student or official body whatsoever.

I am not politically inclined towards the conservative party however I am concerned about what happened at my university yesterday. It denied you the basic right of being about to talk freely and this troubles me deeply. As much as I disagree with the squatting policy that was passed over the summer I believe that you should have had your freedom to explain your side of the argument. I’m sure I speak on behalf of a majority of politically inclined students and staff when I say that we were genuinely enthusiastic for a lively and evenly matched debate about your stance on this issue.

The actions of a select minority did not just undermine our university but the very liberal morals and ideologies that we collectively stand for in this society. It worries me in a place of study, such as Sussex University, that such acts occurred and I apologise that you and your staff were at the brink of it.

I would like to say thank you for coming to Sussex despite what happened today. Please don’t let the actions of a select minority determine your perspective of the general student and staff population of Sussex University.

Please send my regards to all your staff who were affected by today.

Yours Sincerely,

Yasmin Centeno

Leave a Reply

